was established in 1980 by the Canadian marine science community to recognize excellence of research and outstanding contributions to marine sciences. It is presented by the Royal Society of Canada. The award honours marine scientists of any nationality who have had and continue to have a significant influence on the course of marine scientific thought. The Award is named in honour of Archibald Gowanlock Huntsman (1883– 1973), a pioneer Canadian oceanographer and fishery biologist.

The A.G. Huntsman Award was established through initial principal contributions from Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Natural Resources Canada, the Province of Nova Scotia, and the Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers.  Additional endowment was later granted from the LiFT Family Fund through Gift Funds Canada.

The Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia is Honorary Patron of the A.G. Huntsman Award.



The A.G. Huntsman Foundation is pleased to announce that the 2018 A.G. Huntsman Medal will be awarded to Dr. Terence P. Hughes (James Cook University, Australia) in recognition of his innovative science for sustainable management of coral reef biodiversity. The award ceremony and public lecture will take place on November 20, 2018 at the Bedford Institute of Oceanography in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.  The lecture is titled "Global Warming is Transforming the World's Coral Reefs".



TERRY HUGHES is Distinguished Professor, Director, driving force, and intellectual leader of the Australian Research Council (ARC) Centre of Excellence for Coral Reef Studies. Comprising over 300 researchers and students, this team of ecologists, social scientists, economists, lawyers and modelers is leading a worldwide shift in coral reef science, away from earlier qualitative and solely descriptive studies towards research that is quantitative, predictive, and specifically designed to inform regional-scale management of coral reefs and other marine ecosystems. Dr. Hughes undertakes research that delivers environmental, economic, and social benefits to countries and communities that rely on coral reef biodiversity as a resource for fisheries and tourism.


TERRY HUGHES is one of the world's most highly cited coral reef scientists. He is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, and is the recipient of the Climate Change Award of the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, the Darwin Medal of the International Society for Reef Studies, and an Einstein Professorship from the Chinese Academy of Sciences. His appointments include the boards of the Resilience Alliance, the Beijer Institute for Ecological Economics, and the Red Sea Research Centre.


The photograph on the website header shows CSS Hudson in Scott Inlet, Baffin Island, on September 6, 1977. The cliffs in the background are 300 or more metres high. In the fall of 1976, Bedford Institute of Oceanography scientists had observed an oil slick off the Inlet but because of ice conditions at the time they were unable to locate its source or to determine its extent. So in 1977 and again in 1978, CSS Hudson returned to measure the background levels of petroleum residues in the eastern Arctic and also to investigate the geology of the Baffin Island shelf. Together, the chemical and geological studies demonstrated that the slick at Scott Inlet is the result of natural seepage of petroleum from the walls and bottom of the submarine trough that cuts across the continental shelf in this area. This image of CSS Hudson appears on the Huntsman Medal. [Photograph by Roger Belanger, Crown Copyright]